NFL owners’ vote to change commissioner’s title: NFL owners vote to make the title of Commissioner Roger Goodell a more neutral one

More NFL: NFL teams are split over new title, commissioner name: Owners vote to name the league’s new commissioner Roger Goodell as a neutral one, with some teams voting for his current title of commissioner, while others prefer a new title.

The NFL’s owners voted Wednesday to make Goodell the commissioner, but the NFL Network’s John Clayton reports the vote was split along party lines: Republicans, who control the league and its owners, wanted to keep the commissioner’s current title, while Democrats want to change the commissioner to a neutral title.

The vote was 55-40 for a change.

Here’s the full ballot: NFL Commissioner vote ballot (voting was done Wednesday) Republicans: Roger Goodell Democrats: Tom Benson, John Mara, Robert Kraft, Bob Kraft The Associated Press contributed to this report.